VATSIM.net

VATSIM's Global Discussion Community
It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 11:27 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2011 3:54 am 
Online

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:01 am
Posts: 10448
Location: Miami, FL
This was submitted by Paul Deemer.

For those Win7 + FSX users who still run into crashing problems after moving the uiautomationcore.dll to the FSX folder, try this alternate method. basically youre telling your system to take ownership of the file and giving it write permission.

You can get the uiautomationcore.dll file from the url below

http://download3.apollo3.com/download/d ... .php?id=20

1. Find CMD.EXE, right click the file and select run as Administrator.

2. Type the following commands below and then press Enter.

a. Takeown /f c:\windows\system32\UIAutomationCore.dll

b. icacls c:\windows\system32\UIAutomationCore.dll /grant Administrators:(D,WDAC)

c. ren UIAutomationCore.dll UIAutomationCore.dll.old

d. exit

3. Download and Copy UIAutomation.dll to your main FSX folder.

_________________
ImageImage
SimAir Force (SIMAF51/RCH51)
sCol Ernesto Alvarez (AMC)
436th AW 9th AS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2011 3:58 am 
Online

Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 3:20 am
Posts: 2581
Location: Minimums
:D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2011 6:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 2:45 am
Posts: 1197
Location: Pompano Beach FL
Thanks!

_________________
http://www.allegiantva.org Join if you have skill!
Image
Image
Windows 7 Ultimate (64)
Intel i7 2600k 4.2 Ghz
Gskill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
750 WD
Nvidia 560 Ti 1GB


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2011 8:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:11 am
Posts: 2750
Location: Sweat Mountain, GA
I'm not sure what the point of this is. Any DLL in use by an active process is automatically locked for writing because of the way Windows virtual memory works.

Cheers!

Luke

_________________
... I spawn hundreds of children a day. They are daemons because they are easier to kill. The first four remain stubbornly alive despite my (and their) best efforts.
... Normal in my household makes you a member of a visible minority.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 5:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:30 pm
Posts: 770
Who said anything about running FSX at the same time? Seems to me all he's doing is adding an ACL entry to remove the old file.

_________________
http://www.pond64.net


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 4:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 5:55 am
Posts: 168
with the downloaded file I just place it into the Microsoft Flight simulator X folder, right?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 3:00 am
Posts: 577
Location: N025.15.17.989 E055.21.51.401
The link seems to be down ! :(

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:17 pm 
Online

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:01 am
Posts: 10448
Location: Miami, FL
thanks, looks like Larry is having issues on his server today, should work again after he checks into that, if not ill put up alternate links.

Sean, if i remember right, yes it goes into the root folder of FSX

_________________
ImageImage
SimAir Force (SIMAF51/RCH51)
sCol Ernesto Alvarez (AMC)
436th AW 9th AS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:19 am 
Online

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:01 am
Posts: 10448
Location: Miami, FL
alternate link while the links on the apollo site are down

http://www.4shared.com/zip/pIwvDQ3w/UIA ... nCore.html

_________________
ImageImage
SimAir Force (SIMAF51/RCH51)
sCol Ernesto Alvarez (AMC)
436th AW 9th AS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 5:10 pm
Posts: 2
That is the wrong version on Apollo website, and will add more problems to FSX. The only version which actualy works, and is required for Windows 7 users is 6.0.5840.16386. You can download it here https://www.dropbox.com/s/adxsx0mxb6wztil/UIAutomationCore.rar

Check your version, it should be like this:

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:19 pm 
Online

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:01 am
Posts: 10448
Location: Miami, FL
source?

_________________
ImageImage
SimAir Force (SIMAF51/RCH51)
sCol Ernesto Alvarez (AMC)
436th AW 9th AS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 4:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 5:10 pm
Posts: 2
I found this by accident, just tried to find why is not working for some people http://forum.avsim.net/topic/419520-fsx-freezes-mid-flight/page-2#entry2804356

After this, i tested different versions on my 2 PC's.

But other, "trusted" sources would be Paul J from Avsim and Kosta. Paul has one post about issues with wrong version http://forum.avsim.net/topic/421372-nvidia-32723-drivers/page-3#entry2805096

I don't know if Kosta is aware of other versions issues, but he uses the right one in his guide.

Everyone can try, it took 10 minutes to test it. Just restart PC once after you replace uiautomationcore.dll, i don't know why, but is needed on my PC to see effects.

The rest is ok, uiautomationcore.dll should be just placed in FSX main folder. No other places, no adding to registry...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 25, 2013 5:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2013 2:59 pm
Posts: 6
here's my private undocumented fix
seems to be working fine here with me, feel free to try yourself

make a "New Text Document.txt", rename it from "New Text Document.txt" to "uiautomationcore.dll"
accept the prompt warning about changing the file extension
than move it to your FSX root directory
thats it, enjoy


Chris


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 25, 2013 6:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:11 am
Posts: 2750
Location: Sweat Mountain, GA
Chris Bell 1244639 wrote:
make a "New Text Document.txt", rename it from "New Text Document.txt" to "uiautomationcore.dll" accept the prompt warning about changing the file extension
than move it to your FSX root directory


You're better off just deleting the .DLL from the FSX directory.

Cheers!

Luke

_________________
... I spawn hundreds of children a day. They are daemons because they are easier to kill. The first four remain stubbornly alive despite my (and their) best efforts.
... Normal in my household makes you a member of a visible minority.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 25, 2013 6:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2013 2:59 pm
Posts: 6
i know it seems silly to put a blank renamed txt document
ive been working with MS platforms professionally for over 15 years now, ive learned few of their corks

i believe fsx.exe is just looking for the file as part of his checklist, not actually running any functions off it
it appears so far that this is sufficient to prevent the random crashes observed with FSX and W7

there's no risk in trying this what so ever, you could always revert back


Chris


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group