VATSIM.net

VATSIM's Global Discussion Community
It is currently Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:55 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2010 10:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 4:55 am
Posts: 912
Location: N39°03.02'W084°39.36'
Many of you have hesitated upgrading to Microsoft FSX because of a well documented issue with the display of various high performance add on aircraft and scenery textures. Specifically, many people were suffering from disappearing textures as well as out of memory errors with many popular add ons and even some of FSX's default aircraft.

Well there may be a fix out there which has recently been discovered by a very dedicated FSX-user by the name of Jesus Altuve who has found some undocumented settings for the fsx.cfg file that apparently fix this problem with disappearing textures for the majority of the users who have tried them. Since many simmers are uncomfortable with changing the settings of the fsx.cfg (let alone finding its location on their systems), our very own Lefteris Kalamaras (a VATSIM Founder) through his company Flight Sim Labs has created a little utility that automatically applies the fixes to your fsx.cfg file. It will even back up the original .cfg file in case you want to unapply the changes.

With Lefteris' permission, I am reprinting a portion of the utility's readme file which goes into a bit more detail about what changes are made. If you would like to download the utility (which is being made freely available) you can get it here:

http://forums.flightsimlabs.com/index.p ... ix-v10zip/

If you want more detail, you can check out a couple of forum threads over at Flight Sim Labs forums:

http://forums.flightsimlabs.com/index.p ... x-utility/

=====================

WHAT DOES THIS UTILITY DO?
==========================

Several customers and FSX users have found that when using 'demanding' add-ons
in their simulator, they would experience 'disappearing' aircraft and scenery
textures which, over time would render their simulator useless. This would
happen at various times, depending on different hardware, but it would be an
irreversible process, requiring users to restart FSX, rendering their simulation
experience very frustrating.

A very dedicated FSX user, Jesus Altuve, found some fsx.cfg undocumented settings
that fix this problem with disappearing textures for the majority of the users
who have tried them.

This "Texture Fix" utility automates these changes in the fsx.cfg configuration
file which FSX users had to perform manually. Namely, it adds two new entries:

[Graphics]
HIGHMEMFIX=1
STALE_BUFFER_THRESHOLD=2147483647

which have been found to resolve the disappearing texture problem.

It also allows the rebuilding of the FSX Shader cache folders which enables the
fix to 'take' inside FSX.

Together with these two entries, the FSL Texture Fix utility allows for some
optional edits in the fsx.cfg file, which users have found helpful in increasing
their sim performance. These edits are NOT enabled by default, as the entries
can vary from hardware to hardware. Helpful defaults have been set, however, in case
the user wants to tweak their settings.

NOTE: A Backup fsx.cfg file is made before the utility writes these entries, but
always remember to COPY your original fsx.cfg file elsewhere, if you really want
to ensure that you won't screw something up.

INSTALL NOTES:
==============
You can place this utility in any folder you like and execute it in place.
It should be able to locate your FSX installation and perform its duties
as required.
Note that the utility will output a .log file which you can use for
informational purposes.


UNINSTALL NOTES:
================
If you need to uninstall the FSLTextureFix utility, simply delete it.
There's no uninstallation required.

NEED TECHNICAL SUPPORT?:
========================

This utility is provided with no technical support, as it's released as
a free (but NOT public domain) version.

For discussion on this, you can visit our forums at

http://forums.flightsimlabs.com

HISTORY:
========

v1.0.0.0 - First general Release

=====================

_________________
George S. Marinakis
VATSIM6, co-Founder, VATSIM
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 1:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 3:20 am
Posts: 2725
Location: Minimums
Does this help with FPS or stuttering?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 1:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 11:43 pm
Posts: 149
Darrol Lakro 1140797 wrote:
Does this help with FPS or stuttering?

Definitely stuttering, select users have noticed an increase in FPS I've heard...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 5:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:08 am
Posts: 110
Location: DHP-R130 20 DME (Coral Gables, FL)
OMG :) I'm famous!!

and yes, the fix is the 'real deal' although is not 'meant' to improve performance.. for that you need yet another tweak, if you go tomorrow to the avsim main FSX forum you'll see it pinned there.

Its about the [BufferPools] UsePools=0 setting and how to make it work for you.

_________________
Bojote's Flight Sim Videos
http://www.youtube.com/bojote


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 5:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:33 am
Posts: 656
Location: LZKZ
Thank you Jesus and George.
I had that problem immediately following first Concorde X install on my hi-end PC. My initial approach was to reduce monitor color depth to 16 bit, and some display sliders I moved from very high to high, which solved it for me.

_________________
Regards, Opher Ben Peretz
Senior Instructor

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 10:45 pm
Posts: 333
sounds good but i can't download it i click download then save and then nothing happens (same if i click open)


http://forums.flightsimlabs.com/index.php?/files/file/66-fsl-texturefix-v10zip/

their an alternate link/ download

can it be e-mailed?
(bakerboy448(at)aimmonkey5.com)

W/o primate and primate #

_________________
ZAU S-2, Major Certified
ZAU S-1 Mentor
(Disclaimer: the post above does not necessarily express the opinion or stance of ZAU or ZAUs training program, this view is made by me and me alone)
Image


Last edited by Anthony Baker 1080999 on Wed Feb 09, 2011 5:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 12:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 9:00 pm
Posts: 202
Jesus your a God send! :D

_________________
ImageImage
Have you checked your Smoke Alarm Batteries lately?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 6:45 am
Posts: 987
Michael Penson 929969 wrote:
Jesus your a God send! :D


*facepalm* I was waiting for someone to say that or something along those lines. :lol:

_________________
ZLA Pilot Cert I-03

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 1:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 7:45 pm
Posts: 2113
Location: CYYZ
Thank you Jesus. Lemme try this. Can't wait to get back in the skies.

_________________
ZLA I11
VATCAF S1
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 4:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 4:56 am
Posts: 9
What about the "menu crash" anything new on this. I have done all that is out there. UIAutiomationcore.dll thing and many more. Just wondering is anyone has found a new fix to this,

Thanks

Brett Lucas
812099


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 5:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:08 am
Posts: 110
Location: DHP-R130 20 DME (Coral Gables, FL)
Brett Lucas 812099 wrote:
What about the "menu crash" anything new on this. I have done all that is out UIAutiomationcore.dll thing and many more. Just wondering is anyone has found a new fix to this,


Just follow this steps (even if the seem weird to you)

1) Go inside your FSX root folder, right click on the fsx.exe file and select properties.
2) Now go to the Compatibility tab and select the option that says: 'Change settings for all users'
3) Make sure ONLY the following options are checked:
- Disable visual themes
- Disable desktop composition
- Run this program as an administrator
4) Press Apply, Apply, OK Until you clear all windows
5) Now, go to the control Panel
6) Select the icon called 'Personalization'
7) On the left pane, you'll see the option 'Change mouse pointers' click on it.
8) Now, in the mouse properties window, select the 'Pointers' tab
9) Set (None) under the pulldown where you see 'Scheme' and press apply


Now, try to force a menu crash inside FSX.

_________________
Bojote's Flight Sim Videos
http://www.youtube.com/bojote


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 11:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:01 am
Posts: 11016
Location: Miami, FL
will this work for the OOM issues with FS9 aswell?

trying this one out, got it from the coolsky forum since theyre super80 seems to suffer from it
http://blogs.msdn.com/ptaylor/archive/2 ... space.aspx

_________________
ImageImage
SimAir Force (SIMAF51/RCH51)
sCol Ernesto Alvarez (AMC)
436th Air Wing Commander


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 11:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:08 am
Posts: 110
Location: DHP-R130 20 DME (Coral Gables, FL)
Ernesto Alvarez 818262 wrote:
will this work for the OOM issues with FS9 aswell?

trying this one out, got it from the coolsky forum since theyre super80 seems to suffer from it
http://blogs.msdn.com/ptaylor/archive/2 ... space.aspx


Hola Ernesto,

OOM issues, are simply the fsx.exe process going over the 2GB limit. This is a limitation on 32-Bit OSes, the ONLY workaround, is to run FSX on a 64 Bit OS.

In fact, HIGHMEMFIX=1 is what makes Vista and Win7 (64-Bit) 100% stable with FSX now... please, feel free to let our AvA friends know.. I was planning to post in the forum as well, but I'm a newbie there :) the 'official' topic has been pinned on the AVSIM FSX forum.

Cheers,

_________________
Bojote's Flight Sim Videos
http://www.youtube.com/bojote


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:23 am 
Online

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:11 am
Posts: 2796
Location: Sweat Mountain, GA
Jesus Altuve 831188 wrote:
OOM issues, are simply the fsx.exe process going over the 2GB limit. This is a limitation on 32-Bit OSes, the ONLY workaround, is to run FSX on a 64 Bit OS.


No. A 64-bit OS will still run a 32-bit process with a 2GB userspace limit. FSX SP2 (and maybe SP1) marks the executable as LARGEADDRESSAWARE which gives a 3GB userspace vs a 1GB kernel, but you can configure 32-bit versions of XP and later Microsoft operating systems to do this as well.

Cheers!

Luke

_________________
... I spawn hundreds of children a day. They are daemons because they are easier to kill. The first four remain stubbornly alive despite my (and their) best efforts.
... Normal in my household makes you a member of a visible minority.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 5:01 am
Posts: 11016
Location: Miami, FL
would that be the 3gb switch ive been hearing about for XP? am i correct to believe i'd need more cooling to be safe if i were to use that?

im lookin to get atleast 1 or 2 more fans in so she stays cooler.

_________________
ImageImage
SimAir Force (SIMAF51/RCH51)
sCol Ernesto Alvarez (AMC)
436th Air Wing Commander


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Patrik Yngver 817799 and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group