You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Finding valid routes

Scott Valenti 1273690

Scott Valenti 1273690
Posted
Posted

Hello-

I'm new to VATSIM, it's only my first day.

However I'm a private pilot in the real world (USA), and have experience with FSX.

I did my first flight, using Squawkbox and VATSIM, direct IFR from New Orleans to Houston. There was a departure controller in New Orleans and a center controller along the way. I was cleared for the flight just fine. Unfortunately I forgot to throttle down as I began my descent and over-stressed my 737-800 and crashed! But that's neither here nor there.

What I'm really looking for is help with finding valid IFR routes. I tried to fly direct from Heathrow (EGLL) to Manchester (EGCC), but the tower at Heathrow said my route was invalid, that I couldn't fly direct. I feel overwhelmed by all the tools for figuring out a valid route, and I'm wondering if someone can help? In the meantime I'll keep looking at the website, specifically IFR lessons, clearances, etc.

-Scott

Bradley Grafelman
Posted
Posted

Welcome to VATSIM!

If you want to try to go for realism, FlightAware has a tool called IFR Route Analyzer that lets you search for recent real-world IFR flight plans between two airports.

Otherwise, do the same flight planning steps you'd do in the real world. Get the latest weather information, grab an enroute chart or two (I'd say sectionals, but it sounds like you're flying some tin that's a bit heavier than a C172), and plot a route. Take a look at the SIDs and STARs (if any exist) for your destination/arrival airports, select ones that link up nicely with your route, make sure they are appropriate (i.e. based on aircraft type, equipment, NOTAMs, etc.), and stick them on the ends of your route.