You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

FSX -> X-Plane Pilot Conversion Wiki

Steven Perry

Steven Perry
Posted
Posted (edited)

This post is to help those contemplating the move from MSFS to X-Plane for VATSIM flying. I will update this main post to correct mistakes, add additional info, and hopefully remove some of the warnings I have. Please leave comments & corrections below.

I'm a long time MSFS pilot who finally decided in December 2014 to buy X-Plane due to a nice sale on Steam. I do 90%+ of my flying on VATSIM and the remainder off-line just tooling around. My interest was to get X-Plane and go fly on VATSIM.

I can fly on VATSIM using X-Plane, right?

MAYBE. Expect a learning curve though, as with any software. XSB's interface is not as refined as some MSFS solutions.

Maybe because... XSquawkbox crashes on some systems, including mine, VERY frequently. The most stable VATSIM XSquawkbox experience I've had is being able to taxi across an airport. It crashed before I got airborne. Most other tries crashed before releasing the parking brake.

VERDICT as of 01 February 2015: I'm shelving XPlane and waiting for something besides XSquawkbox to be released.

IMPORTANT: Before flying, under XPlane's Rendering Options, disable "Runways Follow Terrain Contour". This gives you a better chance of being at the same elevation as the MSFS pilots operating on the ground with you. Even after disabling this though, I still see many planes suspended 20' or more above grade.

X-Plane and it's 50+GB of world scenery will have the airports I want to fly to and from, right?