You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Friendly request for some ATC presence during the week

Can Agbaba 950792

Can Agbaba 950792
Posted
Posted

Hello,

I have been flying on VATSIM since December 2005 now but have never had a chance to fly out of my home airport, CYUL (Montreal Pierre-Elliott Trudeau) because there is noone staffing this airport on week-nights like there is in US airports. Also, I've seen occasional presence at Vancouver and even Quebec but complete silence in Montreal.

This is frustrating and saddening for me for I like to fly in my home country and actually get to use my home airport. So I wanted to make a friendly urging to see if any ATC has the time to make to staff CYUL at least one week-night during the week. I cannot fly on week-ends as I work Sat-Mon inclusive so even Friday night fly-ins would be much appreciated.

John

Montreal, Canada

Matthew Horan 901577
Posted
Posted

Hello/Bonsoir,

CZUL_W_CTR covers Montreal airport; they are online fairly often.

Often times, an FIR cannot proceed to staffing the airport or region just based on one users request, but if you have an event planned with a group of friends, our online form at VATCAN should get you the coverage you need.

There are several short hops you can make into YUL, including CYYZ-CYUL, which is almost guaranteed to have ATC the entire length of the route.

Hope this helps,

Can Agbaba 950792
Posted
Posted

Hello Matthew,

I have monitored SERVINFO almost every week-night from Tuesday to Friday inclusive and never see CYUL online but do see CYVR or other Canadian airports online. CYUL does happen to be online now but it's the first time I've seen it online in at least 1-2 months and I do check 2-3 times a week with SERVINFO.