You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Central controllers and airspaces(UK)

Rares Fratean

Rares Fratean
Posted
Posted

I have a couple of questions(newbie here):

1. If I depart from a non-controlled airport and into an airspace that doesn't require two-way communication, do I need to contact CTR when approaching an airspace that requires clearance?(provided that there are no other ATC controllers other than CTR).

2. If I want to depart from a controlled airport (with no ATC online other than CTR), do I need to get clearance from CTR? Or stick to unicom and contact CTR once I am airborn?

Thanks in advance

Lindsey Wiebe 1101951
Posted
Posted

Hi Rares,

I'm [Mod - Happy Thoughts]uming you are flying and filing IFR (if VFR if you clear of controlled airspace then you can pretty much do what you want (within the rules of course) without contacting CTR.

1. Yes, you would need to contact the CTR PRIOR to entering their airspace, obtain your clearance then continue as cleared. Give yourself time so you can get your clearance figure it out, smooth out any wrinkles and setup to abide by the clearance BEFORE entering the controlled airspace.