You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Call Sign questions

Jim Alex

Jim Alex
Posted
Posted (edited)

So I'm a new pilot, and I'm wondering about Call Signs.  I've looked at the VATSIM Learning Centre , but still have questions.

• Can/should I use multiple call signs? A different one depending on the flight?  Example: flying for an Airline vs flying a private plane.
  • Should it reference my aircraft? 
    • and if so should I use the manufacture and type, or the specific registration, or a combination. 
    • Should I use the FSEconomy  Registration number, or
    • the XPlane model registration .
  • Should I use a personal callsign?
  • Should it relate to the airline I am flying for?  Example a pilot could use their Airline Pilot ID.   

FS Economy

image.png.435d47224913e0fcd89d4546af45ceed.png 

XPlane

image.thumb.png.bec468c8e3439430519a9c5efc2998d2.png

Kind Regards

mac

Edited by Jim Alex
removed duplicate image

Dustin Rider
Posted
Posted
1 hour ago, Jim Alex said:

So I'm a new pilot, and I'm wondering about Call Signs.  I've looked at the VATSIM Learning Centre , but still have questions.

• Can/should I use multiple call signs? A different one depending on the flight?  Example: flying for an Airline vs flying a private plane.
  • Should it reference my aircraft? 
    • and if so should I use the manufacture and type, or the specific registration, or a combination. 
    • Should I use the FSEconomy  Registration number, or
    • the XPlane model registration .
  • Should I use a personal callsign?
  • Should it relate to the airline I am flying for?  Example a pilot could use their Airline Pilot ID.