You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Anyone using the Carenado Mooney on VATSIM ?

Kevin Jones

Kevin Jones
Posted
Posted

Is anyone using the Mooney on VATSIM. I just want to know what your experience was like. I got VATSIM with V-PILOT set up last night. It was getting late and I just did a small airport to small airport test flight. The radio acted funky though and I could not change Com1 frequency; it could have been due to me having the Copilot handle ATC comms setting on. I'm still learning the exact setup needed. Also the XPONDER kept changing frequencies on me .

Also, do you need to contact the Center of the nearest large airport when taking off or landing a GA plane from a small airport or are you just free to do your thing monitoring the UNICOM Freq ? provided you are not invading the major airspaces?

Also, does weather and time need to be live ? Can a I do a day flight at say 11 pm my time ?

I may try 172 next as I see some YouTube tutorials on VATSIM using that. It seems the Comm button lights don't always activate on the panel with the Mooney and it can be a bit confusing.

I just want to add that I think all the strict rules on VATSIM are in place to stop players from being total idiots. There is a YouTube of a player purposely irritating the ATC controller and the ATC was patient with the idiot never the less. It doesn't appear players are going to get heads chopped off making errors within the learning curve. Also some of the ATC's seemed or sounded nervous themselves. I guess its best to start small and local to where you fly a lot and then branch out from there.

Matthew Bartels
Posted
Posted

You want to turn off all of the MSFS assists. They cause lots of problems on VATSIM.

You either die a hero, or live long enough to see yourself become the villain.