You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

I'm a newbie. Tell me what I did wrong, please?

jonathan bryant

jonathan bryant
Posted
Posted

I'm a new vatsim pilot (around 10 hours total time) but I'm an instrument rated private pilot in real life, so I don't think I'm TOTALLY useless.  Here's the scenario. . . 

I called for clearance and the controller told me "you might wannna go check your flight plan" and then he disconnected before I could check it and ask him what was wrong.  I spawned at another airport in the vicinity and flew a VFR flight, but I saw he came back online as soon as I was gone.  I had this same controller chastise me about a typo on a flight plan a couple of days before, so I was already on eggshells.

This is what I filed:

Flight Type:  IFR

Departure Airport: KCLT

Destination Airport:  KCLT

Departure Time:  1120z

Time Enroute: 00hh 25mm

Fuel Available:  04hh 00mm

Cruise Speed:  140

Cruise Altitude:   3000

Equipment:  /G

Route:  KEHO

Remarks:  practice apch at KEHO

The airports have been changed to protect the innocent, but the dep/dest airport was a class B and the satellite was just outside of the Bravo - like my example here.  This was early morning and there was one controller at the Bravo and only 2 aircraft in his airspace.  Literally minutes of silence between calls. 

Anybody tell me what I did to tick this controller off?  I know this isn't what a Bravo controller typically sees, but it is a  typical mission in the life of a Private Pilot looking to stay instrument current.  And, I know that a Delta or even Charlie airport would've been a better choice for this flight, but there were literally NONE with controllers online.

Thanks in advance.

Trying to learn,

JB

• Sad 1

Robert Shearman Jr
Posted
Posted