You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

New Pilot - Mixed experiences. Thoughts?

AOTEAROA

AOTEAROA
Posted
Posted

Hi all. I'm new to the Vatsim community and find this super exciting. I have done about 30 flights so far. However, the experience goes from fantastic to horrible. I can say 2 out of 10 are not pleasant.

Wonderful, all goes right; I can understand instructions and land safely.

Horrible: one-off controller throwing me many instructions simultaneously; I struggle with half and ask for clarity. Controller gets angry and, instead of repeating slowly, goes even faster, with additional comments like: “I have already told you”, which in my view, adds nothing to the comms and makes you more stressed about it. And consequently, you feel uncomfortable with him for the rest of the frequency.

Am I wrong to expect the controller to be a bit patient? I struggle when they mouth waypoints that they are used to, and I’m not—situations where I asked the spelling of it and they become hostil about my request.

My feeling at the end is that they think Im intentionally not understanding whilst I’m doing my best to understand the comms.

Any tips to deal with it? I would imagine everyday people are learning and at the same time I understand controllers may be stressed. Curious to know the experience from other new pilots. But don’t get me wrong, I believe majority of controllers are kind and supportive.

Thank you.

• Like 1

Robert Shearman Jr
Posted
Posted

Note the details of the controller you are working with, then find the website of the facility you were flying through at the time, and the link for "Leave Feedback."  Almost every VATSIM ATC facility has one.