You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Done a couple flights, and I have questions.

Dan Moos

Dan Moos
Posted
Posted

I have completed a couple flights on VATSIM, and I have some questions. I should start by saying my experience thus far is abundantly positive. My flights were both in the Seattle area, and the controllers were top notch. If you handled Caravan N25832 last night (Tues) or last Sunday night, thanks for your great work!

My experience level is that I am a RL private pilot who got as far as passing my instrument rating written test before I met my eventual wife, and shall we say, my funds were diverted. It's been 14 years since I've flown the real thing. 

My approach to VATSIM was to just install the relevant software, and just assume using RL comms phraseology and procedures would work. This approach was indeed successful, which is a testament to what you guys are doing. 

I did run across a couple things that I wasn't sure about.  First, last night the only controller in the Seattle ARTCC working was Center. I called them to get my IFR clearance. The reply I got was "Clearance on request", a phrase I never encountered IRL. Not knowing for sure what to do, I just said "Ready to copy clearance".  After a bit of time (he was pretty busy with other traffic), the controller got back to me with my clearance. I'm wondering what "clearance on request" meant, and what was expected from me at that point.