You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

FNO at Honolulu

Karen Dunbar 1002434

Karen Dunbar 1002434
Posted
Posted (edited)

As the recently appointed Events Director for VATUSA, I would like to briefly introduce myself. I am a retired psychologist who has been involved with aviation for my entire life. I am married to an ATP/Instrument Instructor, and have over 700 r/w hours in the right seat. I have worked as a program development consultant, and hope to apply those skills to creating the type of events department that will serve all the ARTCC’s in VATUSA.

Just thought I would share a couple of pics from Honolulu's FNO last night. While there were delays on the ground waiting for Oceanic clearance, and a server bump early on, it seemed that the event flowed pretty well. BTW, any pilots planning Oceanic flights in the Pacific Basin will want to check out

http://zak.vatusa.org/ for briefing material on Oceanic procedures. This should help speed up the clearances/releases for next time.

Thanks to everyone who participated last night, most especially the ZHN and ZLA controllers, and the ZOA guys who handled Oceanic.

This first pic was taken around 0200Z, at the height of the event. It looked to me like a flock of birds found a pile of birdseed and called all their friends to join in!

zhn7.JPG

This pic was taken immediately after the one above, and shows the activity inside the ZHN airspace. Note that, in addition to quite a bit of VFR traffic between the islands, there were also vUSCG craft practicing maneuvers, and a C-130 Hercules from vUSAF in the area for SAR missions.

zhn8.JPG

Join us next Friday night for FNO featuring Indianapolis.

Karen Dunbar

Events Director

VATUSA

Edited by Guest

Karen Dunbar

Events Director

VATUSA

Davor Kusec 990407
Posted
Posted