You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Who to talk to?

Yukun Lin 1067314

Yukun Lin 1067314
Posted
Posted

I'm new to VATSIM, n when i connect to an airport with no ground or tower controller, do i talk to the depature controller or center controller in the area?

Michael Wohry 919629
Posted
Posted

Tune your radio to the socalled Unicom frequency (122.800). Bear in mind that this is a text only frequency and there you can report your intentions, e.g. "KJFK traffic, taxing holdingposition RWY 22L"

David Klain 874106
Posted
Posted

MIchael doesn't have it quite right. On VATSIM higher level controllers will provide services for lower level positions. For example:

- If no CLNC DEL online, call ground for clearance.

- If no ground online, call tower for clearance.

- If no tower online, call Approach for clearance.

- If no approach online, call center for clearance.

- If no center online, use UNICOM as there are no controllers currently providing services in your area.

Dave

Mark Baranyai 1068222
Posted
Posted

Hello!

1 more qestion, do i need clearance on unicom? Everythings stay as like as flying with ATC?

Thanks, Mark.

Lennart Vedin
Posted
Posted

Unicom 122.8 is only applicable when there are no ATC control applicable in your area.

i.e.

- If no CLNC DEL online,

- If no ground online,

- If no tower online,

- If no approach online,

- If no center online,

Then there are no ATC control availabel for your location.

If no ATC available, then no one can give you any clearance nor any approve or instructions. Follow the rules and be ATC for your self.

/ Lennart Vedin / vedinat.png910701.png

Norman Blackburn
Posted
Posted

Mark,

When you are on unicom there is no controller to issue a clearance.

Norman

sig_FSLBetaTester.jpg

Tony Pucca
Posted
Posted