By Morten Jelle 1012739
#519162 I have noticed, when you have want to select and deselect a complete folder, the lower folders will not be deselected/selected, so you still have to manually select deselect the lower folders. Is that supposed to be like that?
By Ross Carlson 887155
#519191 If you uncheck a folder none of the models within that folder will be used. I deliberately didn't have it uncheck all the models when you uncheck the folder, to allow users to turn individual models on/off without losing those choices if they decide to turn the containing folder on/off.

I may make a change to make this more clear ... I would have it "gray out" any of the models within a folder that is unchecked, while still retaining the state of the checkbox for each individual model.
By Don Desfosse 1035677
#519224 I would offer as a possibility:

Check the main folder, all subelements are checked
Uncheck the main folder, all subelements are unchecked (but still selectable)
Main folder unchecked but subelements are checked, the check box next to the main folder is colored (preferred) or shows a 50% transparent colored check (lesser preferred alternative), showing that some elements are checked and some are not

For example, Weapons and Vehicles sections, below:
Image
By Ross Carlson 887155
#519225
Don Desfosse 1035677 wrote:Uncheck the main folder, all subelements are unchecked (but still selectable)


That would have the same issue that I was trying to prevent, namely that the user might spend time going through the individual models in a subfolder, excluding some models that they don't want used, (such as old colors) and then they would lose their work if they selected or unselected the parent folder, either deliberately or accidentally.

That's why I'm thinking it might be best to just gray out all the models when a folder is deselected, but retain the state of their checkboxes.
By Don Desfosse 1035677
#519226 So as not to offend, please everyone reading this know that I am just kidding (mostly, kind of) when I say the first thing that popped into my mind....

"You can't fix stupid"

(followed shortly thereafter by "Yep, I've done that!")

:mrgreen:
By Ross Carlson 887155
#519227 I suppose another way to handle it would be to have a confirmation popup when you select or deselect a folder ... something like: "Are you sure you want to enable/disable all models within this folder and its subfolders?"
By Ross Carlson 887155
#519231 I agree that most people understand that that is the normal behavior. My concern is about a single *accidental* click of the checkbox, undoing potentially hours of work carefully deselecting all the "old" or "retro" color models.

Edit: Come to think of it, I guess if a user does accidentally click and undo all that work, they still have the opportunity to press the Cancel button before the change is saved.