By Matthew Rogerson 1096707
#282097 Hi Guys, I am new to Vatsim and would like to learn ATC, aswell as just generally listen to what is going on in order to learn.

I understand that the question that I am going to ask is probably covered somewhere, but unfortunately I cannot for the life of me find it either on the Vatsim websites or in the forums, and yes, I have tried searching.

Here is what I can do:

a)I can use fsx and use the radios to listen and speak. This is good for learning atc phraseology etc.
b)I have figured out how to use VRC, and how to assign controllers to the communications buttons by getting their voice server address from their ATIS info, and entering the required information.

I since thought that it may be better to try ASRC, as this seems to be the preferred ATC client for Vatsim, so I downloaded it, and have been through the 'introduction' and the 'configuration' on the website, however I get to a point where I have to enter a 'voice server' for setting up the channels. I CANNOT FIND OUT WHAT THE VOICE SERVER IS!!!!

I can see controllers listed in the top right. I can click on their names and get more details in the window in the bottom right, but simply assigning their frequency to a button in the voice window doesn't help.

I have downloaded Roger Wilco and only see about 8 different rooms with 1 to 2 people in them. I know that none of these are for Vatsim. I have read elswhere that the server is UK-1, but where do I put this and how do I access UK-1!!!!!

I am really looking forward to getting up and running with Vatsim, but there seems to be no logical guide to getting going, and there are that many different programs that nothing is in the same place. It is very difficult to find any of the information that you need. It is like finding a needle in a haystack (although that might be easier!).

Is there a list of Vatsim voice servers anywhere?
Is there a way to find out the voice server of a controller within ASRC?