You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Just A Question - New

Matthew Kerr-Sheppard 1074

Posted
Posted

Hello fellow VATSIM members,

I am currently new to this whole VATSIM experience and looking forward to taking up the challenge , but I just have a question which would help me get started.

If I want to take off, fly for one hour in Cl[Mod - Happy Thoughts] G airspace (uncontrolled) and then land at the same airport like I usally do in real life, how would I fill in my flight plan, or do I not need to make one?

As I learn more, I will start to travel between airports, but for the moment taking off and landing at one airport is all I know and I feel comfortable with.

Thank you for reading,

Matthew Kerr-Sheppard

Johan Grauers
Posted
Posted

I suppose you want a VFR flight?

If so then you check the VFR checkbox. Set destination and departure to the airport in question. And that really is enough, if you wish you can put your intentions in the routes field but this isn't nessecary.

Someone from the UK will have to confirm it but if you come to sweden at least you can fly VFR without flightplan (I did this a week ago or something). Then ATC will ask you some details (type of aircraft, souls onboard) and then you can fly along just as if you had a flightplan. But filing one might still be good, then you can also put "new pilot" in your remarks wich is a good thing if you're new

Welcome to Vatsim and safe landings!

Johan Grauers

Event Coordinator - vACC Scandinavia

Posted
Posted

Thanks Johan for the quick reply.

Yes sorry for not mentioning VFR first of all,