You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

New pilot trying to decide between SB and FSINN

Todd Scholl 1182764

Todd Scholl 1182764
Posted
Posted

I've been reading as much info as possible about Vatsim in the forums, PRC, AVSIM, etc, and want to get started. I'm looking for the least problematic client solution. I use two PC's and have them networked succesfully with simconnect for FSEconomy and Plan-G. I have the install directions for both clients (and videos!) and am ready to go. Appreciate any help!

A little background, I've been flying FSX for about three years. It took me to my local airport to get flight training, and I just recently p[Mod - Happy Thoughts]ed my Sport Pilot checkride. I'm looking to add the "airspace endorsment" to my SPL in the fall, and that Vatsim seems like a fantastic environment to learn, and as important, becoming active in this great community. LIke FSE, Vatsim seems to change the whole way you fly with FSX, something I'm looking forward to.

Thanks!

Todd

Ernesto Alvarez 818262
Posted
Posted

skip the youtube install videos, they are mostly all outdated, especially for FSINN, the info is available here in the forums in their sections.

my recommendation, download both, see which one suits you best, you may find you like one over the other where as someone else may not have the same opinion. everyone has their own tastes.

squawkbox is more straight forward with the install then FSINN with some users, especially for Win7 users as theres just 1 extra step that needs to be done for FSINN to work correctly.

the model matching is pretty much the same, especially for squawkbox users since theres now a tool thatll let you use your AI models just like the FSINN users can.