You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Suggestions on how to promote new ATC

Gerry Hattendorf 935415

Gerry Hattendorf 935415
Posted
Posted

Hello All,

First I would like to wish you and your family the best of this holiday season!

The purpose of my post is to start a discussion amongst the senior players here at VATUSA, and help to promote a positive and fun environment to recruit new controllers to this every expanding network of pilots and ATC.

Okay, I'll start with my background. I'm a retired 737 driver in real life, and started with VATSIM in July 05. August 05, I joined an ARTCC with VATUSA, and currently hold a S3 with over 600 hours.

Before I begin, please take note that this is my observations only, I'm not trying to start any flame war, so please forgive me if these ideas have been discussed/dismissed before.

Thanks that your still reading this, so let me begin.

I was working Tower in a busy ARTCC today, and had a good chat with a Senior Controller while online. We discussused some interesting ideas, that I thought I would share.

The big question is: Why is it so many "great" sectors go un-staffed?" Some responses i've heard are as follows:

No traffic, bores too many controllers.

New Students can't get signed off to work the positons.

Pilots don't want to fly where there's no ATC.

I signed up as a new ATC member, but nobody is there to help me, so I just gave up on it.

Of course I've heard alot more, but boiled down, these seem to be the most often heard complaints from my experience.

So here I go, "walking carefully onto the soapbox" my thoughts/recommendations.