You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Thank you, Boston Center!

John Hampton 1264149

John Hampton 1264149
Posted
Posted

I was on this evening on a flight from KBOS to KJFK. As a newbie I expect things to go wrong for me so I wanted to say thank you to the Boston Center controller who was on this evening and was very helpful!

You see, after I got my clearance, I picked up my chart to take a look at where I had to taxi, set it down and begin to taxi. My graphics became jumbled and taxiways were moving and soon everything became a big blur. Couldn't tell runways from taxiways. I offered to just cancel my intentions and shut her down but the controller advised there was little traffic in the area so I could takeoff from 'any runway I could find'. I found one, lined up on it; and the controller advised me that I was 550 yards from the runway I thought I was on. In a good mood I suppose he said "Go for it".

So I replied, "Cleared to go for it, 0DS".

Anyway, after taking off my graphics became choppier, and FSX finally crashed. Didn't get anywhere.

But I finally found the root cause of the problem; along with garbled comms and all the other issues I was having.

You see, when I set my chart down, I set it right down on top of my keyboard (which gets put up on my desk, I don't use it for anything in FSX other than filing the flight plan!); mashing a bunch of buttons and holding them down

Note to self; add to "before taxi" checklist: Check keyboard free and clear of obstructions.

Anyway, thanks for the help and patience Boston Center! (Didn't grab the controllers name, though!)

UAL159.png

UAL159 John Hampton, First Officer - Bombardier Dash 8 Q400

Kim Hanson 1229492
Posted
Posted

As a carpenter, I know what you mean. Sometimes I leave my thumb in the way of the hammer head.