You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Mac Compatibility?

Bradley Clements 1275828

Bradley Clements 1275828
Posted
Posted

Hello! I am a newbie here at this point. I haven't downloaded the software or anything I need besides teamspeak yet because I just recently took the initial quiz. I have a macbook pro 2011. I was wondering:

for all of the programs we use - are there mac versions available anywhere?

if not, is bootcamp the best/most reliable way to run the windows programs? or are there any other programs that do the same thing more efficiently? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

If you have any information that you think will help reply or message me.

PS I am very tech savvy so feel free to explain in: java/javascript if you are able

Steve Kirks 1252923
Posted
Posted
Hello! I am a newbie here at this point. I haven't downloaded the software or anything I need besides teamspeak yet because I just recently took the initial quiz. I have a macbook pro 2011. I was wondering:

for all of the programs we use - are there mac versions available anywhere?

if not, is bootcamp the best/most reliable way to run the windows programs? or are there any other programs that do the same thing more efficiently? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Welcome to VATSIM!

If you want to stay Mac, you're out of options for ATC only--flying is a different story.

You'll want to run Parallels or VMware Fusion on your Mac, run Windows inside of that, then run VRC for a radar client. That's in in a nutshell.

You'll likely spend more time picking an ARTCC to work at--each has it's own strengths and personalities. I chose ZME (vzmeartcc.org) after flying in their airspace and meeting the controllers on TeamSpeak.

Steve

Steve Kirks

ZME S2 Usually MEM_TWR

ZLA I-3 rated pilot

Usually on as: