You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

KLAX Loop7

Wayne Bellflower 1300068

Wayne Bellflower 1300068
Posted
Posted

I'm fairly new to Vatsim and had a question about the Loop7 departure. I can't program crossing the SMO at 160 degrees into my FMC. If I take off from runway 25R and cross the SMO as required, then adjust to heading 235, will ATC tell me when to turn to fly to the LAX point?

Colin Schoen
Posted
Posted

Correct, it is a vectored departure. The controller will say something like

"Turn left direct the Los Angeles VOR, resume the LOOP7 departure.

Colin Schoen

VATSIM Senior Network Supervisor

Mark Wolpert
Posted
Posted

go to your FMC RAD/NAV page. This is where the navigation radios are tuned. Type in SMO into the navaid (VOR R) and 160 into the CRS. You should then see a green dotted line across your display, when you cross that line you have crossed the SMO 160 radial. I am using VOR R here rather than Left so that the FMS can auto tune the left side but you can just as well put this in the left side if you like.

847924.png

Wayne Bellflower 1300068
Posted
Posted

Thank you both very much for your help!

Wayne

Wayne Bellflower 1300068
Posted
Posted

One follow up, if I may- once I p[Mod - Happy Thoughts] the SMO at 160 degrees/3,000 feet, am I free to begin climbing to 10,000 or do I need to maintain 3,000 until given instruction by ATC to proceed to LAX VOR? Thank you guys for your patience!

Bradley Grafelman
Posted
Posted

The ATC-pilot system never leaves things to chance/guesswork (at least, in the US NAS; I suspect/hope it's much the same elsewhere as well). The answer is always: do exactly that which you were cleared/instructed/approved to do; nothing more, nothing less.