You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Question about ATC procedures

Nicholas Hurford 1196952

Nicholas Hurford 1196952
Posted
Posted

Hello Vatsim

First off, apologies if this is posted in the wrong place. (If so mods please move)

I'm planning on flying into the Portland Overload on the 25th (http://forum.vatusa.net/index.php?act=calendar&cal_id=2&code=showevent&event_id=1748), but since it's my first time flying into a crowded event I want to make sure I get the ATC right.

So I have a few questions.

1. If there is a Center online do I need to ask permission to begin the step-downs on the STAR I'm using? Or can I just do it? I [Mod - Happy Thoughts]ume if there's no center it's at own discretion.

2. At what point do I contact Portland Approach? From what I could find on Google, their airspace is a 35 nm radius around KPDX, up to 18000ft. I [Mod - Happy Thoughts]ume this means I contact them once I'm 35nm form KPDX (Unless handed off by Center of course)

3. An finally after contacting Portland App, do I just keep flying the STAR ( Ill be using MOXEE6), including Altitude Stepdowns until instructed otherwise?

Thank you very much for taking the time to help me out, and hope to see you from the Phenom 100's cockpit (*cough* TCAS) in a week and a half.

Regards

Nick

Bradley Grafelman
Posted
Posted
since it's my first time flying into a crowded event I want to make sure I get the ATC right.

So I have a few questions.

Kudos to you for seeking out the knowledge ahead of time! One thing I might note from the start: compliance with ATC procedures doesn't change when there's 20 aircraft in a TRACON versus just 2, so hopefully you've at least done some flying in the US (perhaps even in ZSE or into KPDX itself) before the event. That said, on to your questions...