You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Real world pilot, new to vatsim... help please!!

Peter Bruns 982413

Peter Bruns 982413
Posted
Posted

Hi flight simmers. My name is Peter and I'm a Part 135 pilot... I just left my job flying C-172s, C-206s, and C-207s at a VFR scheduled air carrier, getting ready to apply to several Part 121 regionals. I can program an FMS like nobody's business. But I'm not as PC savvy as many of you are, so please be patient. I currently have a computer with AMD 8350FX processor, a good motherboard (Asus M5A99x), and a decent graphics card (Radeon R9 270...something like that). I currently use Windows 10 64 bit.

I only bother to use payware aircraft, I have Digital Aviation Cheyenne, PMGD 777, and Majestic Flight Q400. I do not use any other scenery add-ons, or weather, or anything else. (Because I can't afford them yet..Jwe have to buy all our own Jepp chart subscriptions, electronic logbooks, and expenses while away...that will change once I get to a 121 airline, lol). So just Vpilot for the sim client. I have a good joystick and throttle.

The problem I seem to be having is that whenever a particular airport is crowded, as soon as I engage the autopilot, it goes nuts, and will not behave like a real autopilot. SOmetimes it will wander from a selected heading, sometimes the frame rate sucks.

Eventually, I will use a dedicated computer ONLY as a flight simulator... I'll have a slimmed down OS but I will need a friend or professional to set up all the hardware and software I need.

Can anyone tell me what the CORRECT hardware and software I need, and is my computer just not good enough? How do I set up and configure a stable system?

Thanks,

Peter

Ernesto Alvarez 818262
Posted
Posted