You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

ATC Reception cutting in and and out

Eric Elia 1004505

Eric Elia 1004505
Posted
Posted

I've been using Vpilot with no problems for almost 2 years. Starting this morning Receiving ATC, the controllers are cutting in and out.

I tried switching servers, I even uninstalled Vpilot and reinstalled it with no change.

Can you give me some trouble shooting suggestions please? Thank you.

Norman Blackburn
Posted
Posted

By cutting in and out do you mean their vanishing from your list of available ATC or do you mean their sound cuts out - after a seemingly random time?

If the latter what happens when you quickly press your PTT? Do they reappear?

Norman

sig_FSLBetaTester.jpg

Eric Elia 1004505
Posted
Posted

No the listing of online controllers does not disappear.

The sound cuts out in the middle of receiving any transmission. It happens with any and all radio traffic over the frequency that is occurring. Also, at the same time the illuminated RX goes out as well. I guess the best way to describe it would be like having a loose wire on a speaker. I'll get about 50% of any transmission (every other word or so)

I've also checked my PTT button and re[Mod - Happy Thoughts]igned it just to be sure and it made no difference.

For reference purposes, I am running window 7 - 64 and both FSX and Prepar3d. It is happening with both platforms.

Thank you for your help.

Norman Blackburn
Posted
Posted

Hi Eric

This sounds like a UDP timeout issue. The normal solution is to set up port forwarding on your router. You need to forward UDP port 3290 to your PC. Search here for "UDP TIMEOUT" - here is one such example viewtopic.php?f=132&t=72784&p=508058&hilit=udp+timeout#p508058

Norman

sig_FSLBetaTester.jpg

Eric Elia 1004505
Posted
Posted

Good Morning Norman,