You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

VATSIM statistics

Chris Kirkman 1396980

Chris Kirkman 1396980
Posted
Posted

I am currently using VATSTATS to get real time information about controllers, pilots online, etc. in addition to the history of my flights, and so on.

I'm a software developer myself, and would find it a potentially interesting endeavor to create a Windows application of my own to fetch historical data, much like VATSTATS.

Is there an API or web service available in which I can access this information?

Kieran Samuel Cross
Posted
Posted
I am currently using VATSTATS to get real time information about controllers, pilots online, etc. in addition to the history of my flights, and so on.

I'm a software developer myself, and would find it a potentially interesting endeavor to create a Windows application of my own to fetch historical data, much like VATSTATS.

Is there an API or web service available in which I can access this information?

This is a copy and paste of something I wrote in the Web Services sub-forum a while back. I think you'll mainly be wanting the https://status.vatsim.net, because of course you can cache certain things, such as names etc.

Be aware that (for some reason I don't understand, and brand stupid), if a pilot sets their home airport in vPilot (maybe other clients too, but I don't know), it'll append it to the end of their name, which results in names on the network (and even VATSIM Statistics Center) such as "Kieran Samuel Cross VABB".

Is there a website on VATSIM that docomeents its available APIs?

I've read these threads and it stated sometime 2016 a new API was being generated, but I can't seem to find an update?

Thanks,

By new API, I presume you'd be referring to CERT 2.0, which afaik has not yet been finished by Kieran Harden.