You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

VOR Approaches

Morgan Conington

Morgan Conington
Posted
Posted

Hi,

I'm a new pilot to the network, because of this I though it would be good to start in a simple GA aircraft (C182).

I know how to find and navigate to VORS using the radio stack and on the GPS but I just had a quick question about landing using VORS. On the attached photo you can see my flight plan (using Plan-G) ends at the Lambourne VOR and then at the runway. As you can probably see I have no idea what I'm doing and have been practising offline before I jump onto VATSIM. I just wanted to know when you fly to the Lamborune VOR how do you start an approach, would ATC give me vectors once I'm in their airspace, would they tell me to join a circuit, basically trying to find out how to land when the VOR is on the runway

Thanks for you help, noobs like me really appreciate it.

Morgan

ciLXcF

Morgan Conington
Posted
Posted

Don't know if the image worked

https://ibb.co/ciLXcF

Andreas Fuchs
Posted
Posted

Hi Morgan and welcome to VATSIM!

As this is a learning environment you are welcome to train your manoeuvers while trying to be mindful of other traffic in EGLL, EGKK, EGSS etc.. There are not soooo many airports that still offer VOR-approaches, so you will have to search a bit.

VATSIM offers a Pilot Resource Center: https://www.vatsim.net/pilot-resource-centre/ifr-specific-lessons

IFR-charts for the UK can be obtained for free at http://www.nats-uk.ead-it.com/public/index.php%3Foption=com_content&task=blogcategory&id=6&Itemid=13.html