You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

FSX Flight Planning and Dealing with Changes from ATC

Joe Bieniek 1408401

Joe Bieniek 1408401
Posted
Posted

Hi very new to the network and I love it so far! Its alot of fun!! That being said I have been flying FSX for about 10 years before I ever knew there was a network like this. I would always file my flight plan through FSX for direct gps and the FSX atc controller would give me vectors along the way to stay on course i.e. turn left heading 270 turn left heading 360 all the way through the flight. I am not expecting this out of Vatsim (if that could happen that would be awesome) Before my questions I should state that I only use the standard gps model that game with the game. My first question is how do I take a flight plan from Sky Vector and load it into FSX? 2nd if ATC approves the flight path how do I get my FSX plane to follow the course the whole way without vectors? And finally I [Mod - Happy Thoughts]ume this is self explanatory from my previous question if ATC makes changes how do I get those changes to appear on my FSX standard GPS that came standard with game. Thank you all so much like I said I am really loving the network and if someone could give me some help with the questions above it would be greatly appreciated so I am not bother the controllers so much.

Matthew McEwen
Posted
Posted

Hey Joe, welcome to VATSIM!!

You're right in that you shouldn't expect vectors as a routine thing enroute. Depending on where you choose to fly, not only will you be very lucky if you have enough area controllers to vector you the whole way, but they certainly won't be too impressed if you do