You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Descending on Unicom, Approach with ATC

Daniel Smith 1408194

Daniel Smith 1408194
Posted
Posted

So I wouldn't say I'm new to VATSIM, but I'm definitely shy when it comes to approaches with ATC as I don't wanna be "that guy" to just ruin everything. So I was wondering..

There's no center online and I'm descending on Unicom, I filed a STAR and the APP controller says it's ok. Obviously I need to begin my descent before entering their airspace, but when I contact them what should I do? Should I stop descending and see what the controller wants me to do, or continue descending, tell them I'm p[Mod - Happy Thoughts]ing x altitude when I call in and just let them give me instructions from there?

Like I said, I don't wanna call in/enter their airspace at a ridiculous altitude that could be problematic for them, so any advice would be greatly appreciated. Another question is that a few controllers I've spoke to says if I'm on Unicom and I enter the airspace of a center controller, I should just wait for a contact me but then on a few occ[Mod - Happy Thoughts]ions I've been told that I should call in once I enter their airspace.

Once again, any advice/help is greatly appreciated, thanks!

Robert Shearman Jr
Posted
Posted
There's no center online and I'm descending on Unicom, {...} Obviously I need to begin my descent before entering their airspace, but when I contact them what should I do? Should I stop descending and see what the controller wants me to do, or continue descending, tell them I'm p[Mod - Happy Thoughts]ing x altitude when I call in and just let them give me instructions from there?