You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Trouble discerning Standby icon from Mode-C icon...

Robert Shearman Jr

Robert Shearman Jr
Posted
Posted

Hi all --

I'm a VATSIM pilot semi-veteran but new to controlling.

On the laptop I control with, it's difficult for me to discern the icon for ground targets squawking Standby from the one for ground targets squawking Mode-C. The former is a little oval-shaped dot (on my screen), and the latter is an asterisk, but the icons are very small. Zooming in, of course, doesn't change the icon size -- it only de-clutters the area around them a bit.

It's possible there's some sort of font issue going on because my ATC mentor showed me a screenshot of how Standby-squawking icons look on his VRC screen and they have a little "growth" on one side (he calls it the "thumbs-up icon"). It definitely does not appear in that manner on my side, and he and I run the same VRC version (1.2.4).

Aside from "buy a new monitor / laptop" (thanks, don't need that advice; don't happen to have the money burning a hole in my bank account at the moment), any suggestions?

(1) is there an easy way (or even maybe a difficult but do-able way) to edit which symbol appears for each, so I can change them to something more easily distinguishable from one another?

(2) I tried a few other radar modes thinking that if I found one which provided a limited data block on Standby but a full data block on Mode-C, that might accomplish what I need -- but I found that in all of the realistic radar modes that I tested, targets squawking Standby only showed as non-identified dot -- even with QuickLook engaged. Am I wrong about that? Are there any radar modes which still provide at least a callsign for Standby-squawking targets, with or without QuickLook on?