You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

TRACON TRAINING PROGRAM

Jason Helkenberg 913355

Jason Helkenberg 913355
Posted
Posted

Would anyone be willing to help me develop a training program used in vSTARS for TRACON training?

Jason

Jason Helkenberg

Krikor Hajian
Posted
Posted

Jason,

While I'm not a developer, I am curious what you have in mind for this program. Currently, ZBW is using Euroscope to run TRACON sessions, and while it's far from perfect it allows us to input routes, simulates ground speeds, and we can program an altitude restriction so it's descend-via-ish. Is the idea for a program that runs through vSTARS (such as the real TRACON training system they use), or something new similar to Euroscope? What sort of features are you trying to implement that we don't have in current training solutions?

Logo.png

Krikor Hajian (HI) - 1283146

Deputy Air Traffic Manager | Instructor

[email protected]

VATUSA ACE Team Member | VATSIM Supervisor

- - - - - - - - - -

BVA is on Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube!

Jason Helkenberg 913355
Posted
Posted

I use the real world sweatbox on a daily basis at D10 and i'd like to develop a program that resembles it. It uses STARS and a Target Generator key to input the command into the program. It would need to be made so that it can be mortified for different TRACONs (runways, approaches) ect. then facility engineers can create/modify the information and then create the scenarios.

in the real world its very simple to use. for example.

each airport has a letter to identify it. DFW is 0, DAL is D, Addison is Z, Alliance is A. heading is H, altitude is A and speed is V.