You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Help!!!!

Robbie Goldberg 955962

Robbie Goldberg 955962
Posted
Posted

Hi,

My name is Robbie and i am happy to be a part of vatsim north america- United States ATC. I was reading some of the reading telling you how to sign up, what software you need, etc... When i was reading it told that my region/ division leaders would asign me training and things to do. I am a pilot in the real world and i thought i would give it a try to put myself in the controll tower. I'm just a little confused on this and i was woundering if anyone can help. I just downloaded ASRC and i was woundering if thats all i need to download.

Thanks and i hope to here from you soon.

Robbie Goldberg 955962
Posted
Posted

Im sorry for all these questions but as i click on the ASRC configurator its telling me i need a position name. Im very desprate for help and once again i apologize for all this h[Mod - Happy Thoughts]al.

Ruth McTighe 824054
Posted
Posted

Hi Robbie, welcome to VATSIM.

You only need ASRC to start with, though once you start controlling there are other useful programs which make your life easier. At this stage you should be connecting as an observer and watching what goes on. You don't need ASRC configurator, as you can set everything in ASRC itself. There's a walkthrough of setting up to observe called the "ASRC Observers Guide" which you can find at www.vatsim-uk.org - just click on ATC training and scroll down to the section marked Training Manuals.

By the way, this forum is for a specific piece of software for practical training called Sweatbox which your instructors will use. I'd suggest posting further questions about getting started in either the Controllers or ASRC forums

Ruth

VATGOV7

Vice President - Communications.

Ruth McTighe