You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Best answer to give way message

Roger Dubuc

Roger Dubuc
Posted
Posted

I'm fairly new to Vatsim and during my last flight, while taxiing, an other pilote gave way to my a/c. I heard him on the radio and then the atc relayed the message to me but i didn't know what to answer to acknowledge the relayed message. My first thought was to say thank you but I know it's not the right answer. What would be the correct readback to" ROU1563, pilot of DALxxxx is giving way..." ?

Torben Andersen
Posted
Posted

"Roger" would be the simplest answer.

Torben Andersen, VACC-SCA Controller (C1)

Robert Shearman Jr
Posted
Posted

If it's not an instruction, but purely informational, with rare exception there's normally nothing much for you to read back.

Given that it was a pseudo traffic point-out, you could maybe have said "we have him in sight, {your callsign}." Otherwise, "Roger, {your callsign}" was pretty much all that would've been expected.

Cheers,
-R.

fvJfs7z.png

Roger Dubuc
Posted
Posted

Thank you all for your answers, it makes sense!

Roger

Brad Littlejohn
Posted
Posted

To be absolutely and completely pedantic, I would read back that "giving way to xxx, [callsign]." that way the controller has your readback and understands which aircraft you are giving way to.

After that, a simple "wilco, [callsign]" would work. I honestly wouldn't reply with "Roger" in this case, because "roger" means that you've heard and received the transmission to you, not that you will be complying with the instructions given.