You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

VATSIM Aircraft Focus

• aircraft

Brian Price

Brian Price
Posted
Posted

Hi folks, very newbie here wanting to understand what the primary aircraft types that Vatsim is focused on; what type of pilot.  Is it primarily heavies or are there also GAs?  As a fairly new XP11 pilot, I’m flying twin engine prop and jets and wanting to stay that way for quite some time, especially as I go through PTD training.  

Which brings up my second question.  I’m on the West Coast of US and want to go through that training.  Any recommendations on which ATCC I should use?

Thanks , Brian

Ryan Austin
Posted
Posted

The majority of activity on VATSIM is air transport ops (large jets,) but GA is highly encouraged as well. I've gotten into some VFR GA flying recently and have had a lot of fun doing so.

I'm not qualified to answer your ARTCC question, but I hope someone else here can.

Ryan Austin

ZMA S3 

joinAVA.org CAT V

Brian Price
Posted
Posted

Thanks Ryan - good to know!

• Thanks 1

Jacob Lewis
Posted
Posted
14 minutes ago, Ryan Austin said:

The majority of activity on VATSIM is air transport ops (large jets,) but GA is highly encouraged as well. I've gotten into some VFR GA flying recently and have had a lot of fun doing so.

I'm not qualified to answer your ARTCC question, but I hope someone else here can.