You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

setting up XSquawk

Kerry Kelly 985823

Kerry Kelly 985823
Posted
Posted

I am new at this and am trying to setup XSquawk in X-Plane 8.50. Need a lot of help on how to set this up.

Thanks Kerry

Joe Chou 980766
Posted
Posted
I am new at this and am trying to setup XSquawk in X-Plane 8.50. Need a lot of help on how to set this up.

You would do well to at least say your system specifications, what you've downloaded, what you've tried, and what problems you've run into so far. Otherwise, you are wasting people's time, if they answer things that are not problems for you.

Mac, Windows, Linux? If Mac, Intel vs. PPC? If Intel Mac, you are kind of out of luck until XSB is re-written as a Universal app.

Did you download the correct XSB (for VATSIM, vs. for IVAO)

Do you have an account at VATSIM?

And finally when you do get it set up, unless you want to get yelled at, highly recommend reading the info for new pilots at the vatsim pilot resource center (PRC) before even THINKING about connecting.

Running X-plane in Windows XP on a MacIntel... Why do things the easy way?

Kerry Kelly 985823
Posted
Posted

Thanks for the advice, like I said I am new at this deal. I have, window xp home, 512 vram, 3 ghz cpu computer is less than a year old dell dimension e510. Yes I have dowloaded XSquawkBox and have registered. Also because I don't want to get YELLED at. I have read some of the new pilot stuff and will read more about it before connecting. But first thing first. "getting connected". I would like some help in that area and it is greatly appreciated.

Thanks for the help kerry

Keith Smith
Posted
Posted (edited)

Kerry,