You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Should I contact ATC when I reach/cross the first waypoint for an ILS approach, if they haven't contacted me yet?

Richard Lee

Richard Lee
Posted
Posted

Hi.  I am new to VATSIM.  When I fly an ILS approach according to the navigational/Jeppesen  charts, there is always a starting waypoint/fix for the ILS approach on that chart. When I cross that starting waypoint/fix and ATC hasn't contacted me, should I get proactive and contact ATC instead?

I would think reaching/crossing the initial waypoint/fix for an ILS approach is a pretty significant event so my intuition tells me that I should contact ATC if they haven't contacted me yet.  But I'm not sure as to proper procedure so I would like to ask here.  Thank you.

Matthew Bartels
Posted
Posted

If you do not have an Approach or Center controller online, then you should contact the tower a mile or 2 prior to the final approach fix or about a 5 mile final. If you do have Approach or Center online, you should be with them already.

You either die a hero, or live long enough to see yourself become the villain.

Forever and always "Just the events guy"

Richard Lee
Posted
Posted (edited)
28 minutes ago, Matthew Bartels said:

If you do not have an Approach or Center controller online, then you should contact the tower a mile or 2 prior to the final approach fix or about a 5 mile final. If you do have Approach or Center online, you should be with them already.