You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

What do I do when no controller is present?

Shaun Johnson 990762

Shaun Johnson 990762
Posted
Posted

Hi I am a new pilot here at VATSIM. When flying in the early morning and no controller is present, what should we do-should we just go to an airport with a controller or should we just fly on our flightplan and land with traffic using our discretion?

Rui Avelar Silva 835158
Posted
Posted

Just say your intentions on UNICOM (122.80) and fly... if you enter an atc manned 'sector', i'm sure you will get a "Please contact me on freq xxx.xx" private message.

Steven Rogers 901202
Posted
Posted

Hi Shaun,

http://vatsim.net/prc will answer just about every question you could think to ask about starting on Vatsim, I suggest you read, re-read and the read again for good measure.

To answer your question, however, if there is no controller online, simply file your flight plan as normal (in case one does come on so they know what you are doing), goto your departure airport, remembering to log on off the runway and fly your flight announcing your intentions on the text-only unicom channel of 122.8.

If you have any more questions, don't hesitate to ask.

Steven Black 813373
Posted
Posted

Remember to make sure your transponder is mode C too.

VATCAN 1

Shaun Johnson 990762
Posted
Posted

Thanks for the helpful hints-really appreciated!

Eric Fraenkel-Gaffr� 890
Posted
Posted

Hello.

Vatcan is looking at changing the "unicom" from 122.8 which is an american frequency to its real life Canadian countepart 126.7

If approved their will be a bit of a learning curve but eventually everybody uncontrolled in Canada shall tune 126.7