You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Still in VATSIM Limbo

Jim Rosado

Jim Rosado
Posted
Posted

I've been flying and controlling on VATSIM since at least 1997, from what I recall. I had to quit doing both because I cannot yet keep up with either of them technologically due to the "FPS 20 or better" requirement that came out a while back. I really hated that, but I had no choice. It was really tuff to first quit controlling, then quit flying online. I still fly the Worldliner B777 offline using XP10.51 to keep my skills current. I now see that XSB is "no more" and that "Velocity" (never heard of it until I stumbled upon it today) is out and in use. I really do miss being online with VATSIM, by the way.

Anyhew . . . I think my 10-yr-old computer's main issue is its "10/100" NIC. However, if I tried to replace that, I am still not convinced that would be enough to meet the "20 or better FPS" requirement (methinks that then I'd find that the motherboard might be the culprit causing the low framerates in XP10.50 -- my frames are literally 19 to 23 FPS, but not enough above 20 to connect to VATSIM reliably). This older PC is the reason I've never tried upgrading to XP11 yet, and so now I'll likely just await XP12. However, I have a Starlink connection out here in the "countryside", and soon I will have a FIOS connection. The main reason for both of those connections in turn was to keep flying on VATSIM, so I am going to have to figure out a way to procure a new PC and XP11/12 sooner than I planned. Unfortunately, the "chip shortage" might make that pretty difficult, though I hope research shows me differently.

My question is: