You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Questions regarding vfr and callsign with airliners

RIVIERE Romain

RIVIERE Romain
Posted
Posted

Hi everyone,

Firstly I hope this is the right section of the forum to ask my questions regarding pilot flying on the vatsim network within MSFS 2020;

This is my first time on the forum and eventually on vatsim, mainly done regular IFR flights (already made 5 flights, 2 first wings and 3 in Europe during normal events,) and so far so good;

I was asking myself a cupple of questions before doing so on the network and after searching the forum and the web, I could'nt find any answers :

1. Funny one: Is it possible to fly VFR in an A320 (or even a B747) on vatsim  ? (as long as I respect altitude and speed rules) ? for exemple doing a trip around the world with multiple legs, doing some sightseeing, jumping island to island etc...  ?  For example I was thinking like a full VFR flight from A to B or perhaps taking off IFR from departure airport, then asking "cancel IFR" for the middle part of the flightplan, with eventually some touch and gos at some intermediate airports, then finishing IFR at the arrival airport.

But the main part of this question is How does controllers accept this kind of "non regular" type of flights ? Of course I intend to do so outside of events.

2. If my first question returns positive answers, when filling a flight plan (I use Simbrief), what is the best way to tell that I am going to do some touchs and gos in a320 at some intermediate airport, in VFR or even IFR between a SID and a STAR ?

Also If "Cancel IFR" works in vatsim, can I get back into it and does it requires another clearance in flight to do so ? Generally speaking how does it work ?