You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Question about "line up" and holding on the runway, before takeoff clearance is given

Richard Lee

Richard Lee
Posted
Posted (edited)

Hi. For all the times I have used VATSIM (I am still relatively new to VATSIM, I have probably flown around 8 to 10 times total), I have always been given the clearance to enter the runway and takeoff, before the runway holding position marking.  While waiting at the holding position marking, the next instruction I have received from a VATSIM controller is that I am cleared to enter the runway and I am cleared for takeoff.  I have never been instructed to "line up" and hold on the runway, and wait for another instruction to takeoff.  But maybe this is because all the airports I was on in VATSIM, are usually not that busy, or I avoid flying during busy hours, and/or I avoid an airport if there is an event there.

Anyways, I was watching a someone stream a flight on VATSIM today, and the airport was pretty busy.  The pilot on the stream was given instructions to "line up," and this was the first time I had heard of such an instruction.  I got into a conversation with someone in the chat on the stream who is a VATSIM veteran, and that person was nice enough to tell me some variations of "line up." Now, I have more questions about how "line up" is used.  For clarity, I will use this diagram as the reference, when I ask my questions about "line up."  Here are the two uses of "line up" that person in the stream chat gave me:

1. "N978CP, via (holding point) line up runway 15"