You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Workload of ATC Centers

Brian Correll

Brian Correll
Posted
Posted

Hello fellow VATSIM users,

I've been using VATSIM since 2017 and I have loved the experience. It's greatly helped me improve my skills as a real-life pilot and it helped me when I was working on my Instrument rating and even helped me to stay "current" during the pandemic. However lately, the number of pilots and the lack of controllers online has greatly hindered my experience on the network and others from what I can tell. 

During an event, there are usually multiple levels of controllers on to cover clearance delivery, ramp control, ground, tower, approach and departure, and even multiple sectors of center. This greatly reduces the stress and workload of the controllers and the pilots greatly. However, when there isn’t an event happening and we don’t have controllers that are signed up for positions for amounts of time, there is not enough coverage to reduce the workload of the controllers.

The main position that I have seen the most workload is center. If one person is on as a center controller, then they must cover ALL positions. Now this is something that the controller is aware of when they log on but lately, I have been seeing that this has resulted in prolonged wait times for an IFR, taxi, and take off clearances. This also results in more frustrated pilot and controllers.