You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

FS9 user in an X-Plane forum...your chance to convert him

Peter Bruns 982413

Peter Bruns 982413
Posted
Posted

So like, I hate Microsoft. Always have, always will. They try to find the "status quo"... and when it comes to flight simulation, to "summarize the flying experience in a way everyone can enjoy".

Ehhhh. O.K. But as a real pilot, I've taken the inquisitive spirit of "how many licks does it take to get to the center of a tootsie pop" and applied it to "how many third-party add-ons does it REALLY take before FS can be truly called realistic?"

I only fly payware aircraft because Microsoft's (commercial airliners, at least) don't even cut it. Then there's scenery add-ons, weather add-ons, flight planning add-ons, blah blah blah.

So the ubiquitous question of the day is...(temple chimes sound here..) "Should I get X-Plane instead"? I am hoping to draw on the knowledge of you kind folks. What kind of hardware do I need to run it WELL? (My set up is Pentium D, 1gig RAM, 250 MB card, XP Pro). Yeah another gig RAM is probably advisable. Next, how has everyone's experience connecting to VATSIM and with model recognition been? Last... what kind of add-ons can you use with X-Plane? Payware aircraft? Scenery? The payware aircraft is the biggest deal for me 'cause I like total model accuracy.

Thanks, folks. My ears are open.

Jeremy Castellanos 1007109
Posted
Posted