You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

GPS approaches/use and X-Plane in Vatsim

Jefferson Leeper 1038620

Jefferson Leeper 1038620
Posted
Posted

I am just getting started with Vatsim, and use x-plane with PFC hardware+networked PCs for the external /cockpit views.

In real life, and am a Private Pilot, ready to take the Instrument check ride, and fly the G1000 in various aircraft. Of course there are no good representations of true functioning G1000s in Xplane, except a REAL one. Is everyone else using an FMS equipped aircraft to load the individual fixes of GPS approaches, stars, sids, DPs etc as FMS legs? I presume I can't enter multiple legs into the stock GPS of say the 172, so must I enter each fix as I approach it?

Keith Smith
Posted
Posted

Jefferson,

X-plane will drive a real G-1000. It will also drive software based Garmin GPS models, too, I believe. As you correctly surmised, the built-in representation of the 530 is a cry for help

You could also install an FMS into the aircraft you're flying and load all of the waypoints for the approach, however, the system won't recognize the concept of an approach/SID/STAR. It won't fly the holds or recognize the missed approach points (many of which will be missing in any case).

I use X-plane for my IFR training, but if I needed to simulate /G, I would hook up to an IFR-approved GPS as the first order of business. Luckily I fly /U....X-plane is awesome for that

Jefferson Leeper 1038620
Posted
Posted

Thanks Keith. That is exactly what I'll do. An expensive option, but needed to really recreate the environment correctly.

Jefferson Leeper 1038620
Posted
Posted

Flying in Vatsim. I had to revert to 1.0 of squawkbox to alleviate harsh static with every users's transmission. That solved that problem.