You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Newbie having some problems

Greg Packett 917597

Greg Packett 917597
Posted
Posted

Hi all. I've been flight siming for many years and even multiplayer with firends but I'm new to VATSIM. I'm running FS9/2004 and have tried to connect with my firewall on and turned off. I downloaded the Pilot's complete VATSIM package, printed all of the .pdf directions for each piece of software and have followed them to the "T" several times, including several uninstalls and reinstalls. Everything appears to have installed just fine and things work up to a certain point. Here's the problems I'm having. I start SBRelay, enter an FS multisession, create a flight, click modules, HostSB and Run. I start Squawkbox, search and then join the server. That's when I get an error that says "icao.dat Critical Error: could not open file". I click "ok" and then click "Click here to get into the action". I right click and change my callsign to the same callsign I've used everywhere else. I then right click to file my flight plan and I get another error message that says "you are missing the file csl_icao.csv Aircraft will not be shown properly" I click "ok" anyway and the flight plan comes up anyway but I can't select a type aircraft. I fill it out as best as I can anyway and click ok. SBhost says "flight plan sent." I squawk standby and then click connect. I type in my Reg number and p[Mod - Happy Thoughts]word (I've tried both p[Mod - Happy Thoughts]words - the number and the one I had to make for the required reading) I get another error - "Connect error: WSAECONNREFUSED The attempt to connect was forcefully rejected". Like I said above, I've uninstalled and reinstalled several times following the directions very carefully each time. I even went as far to reinstall FS9/20