You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Adding RAM

Daniel Vail 1036914

Daniel Vail 1036914
Posted
Posted

Currently I have 894mb of RAM. I ordered 2GB for my E-Machine. At JFK with AI traffic Active sky etc I get 11fps. If I take all that stuff away I can get anywhere from 25-40 fps. So my question is with 2gb of RAM will I see that 11fps go up with all my AI traffic and addons?

(I need to have AI traffic either way) Thanks

I put this question in the Pilot Software section a few hours ago without knowing there was a hardware section. (im new to this) So please don't yell at me saying I'm spamming. Thanks

I used about 70-80% of my RAM when playing w/ fs9

And I run Active Sky 6

76868869_i0Z6gNF3__IGP2663.jpg

Johnathon Neilsen 955672
Posted
Posted

Hi Daniel.

You should definately see some improvement in FPS. However I thought i was the processor/graphics/video card that handled majority of the work. RAM is there so you can run other programs alongside FS. (I think, welocme to correct.)

Hope that helps.

955672.png

Stephen Sculley-Beaman
Posted
Posted

Like Johnathon mentioned, RAM only does so much. If you were working with 512, I'd tell you to go get a gig or so of ram, but such is obviously not the case. I suggest looking into a processor or video card upgrade. Mind posting your PC specs? that'll help limit the speculation and will also allow us to give much better advice.

Daniel Vail 1036914
Posted
Posted
Like Johnathon mentioned, RAM only does so much. If you were working with 512, I'd tell you to go get a gig or so of ram, but such is obviously not the case. I suggest looking into a processor or video card upgrade. Mind posting your PC specs? that'll help limit the speculation and will also allow us to give much better advice.

Pentium ® D CPU 2.66GHz