You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Linux System Gaming Computer

Roger Curtiss

• Board of Governors
Roger Curtiss
Posted
Posted

I am contemplating the purchase of a dedicated gaming computer and I have seen the following available:

AMD Athlon X@ 4.2 GHz dual core processor

500GB SATA hard drive

2 GB RAM

ATI Radion 512mb video card

This sytem uses a Linnux Ubuntu 8.10 operating system. I have no experience with anything but Windows systems. Is this OS a good choice for running flight sim/VATSIM programs? Is thjere anything else spec-wise I should be looking for?

Thanks for any insights

Roger Curtiss

VATGOV12

VP-Virtual Airlines & Special Ops

r.curtiss(at)vatsim.net

810159.png810159.png

Tim Krajcar
Posted
Posted

Your FS+VATSIM options are limited to X-Plane/XSquawkBox and there is no non-Windows radar client. FlightGear is another sim I am aware of that runs on anything but I don't know of a VATSIM client for it.

I wouldn't consider running Linux on a dedicated gaming computer... there are so few games that can be played on it

But what's to stop you from purchasing a copy of Windows and installing it on the machine?

Tim Krajcar

Ian Oliver
Posted
Posted