You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Hardware/Software? Sound Problem.

Kevin Vosper 1115828

Kevin Vosper 1115828
Posted
Posted

Ok, so I've been FSing since the beginning (PC Jr. ), but now I decided to get serious. MORE SERIOUS! I am a real world pilot (ppl), and I've always liked that FS helps with training to an extent, but alas I am trying to get more serious.

Here's the problem:

I'm running vista 64, 8gb ram, 512DDR4, and an amd quad 2.66 with fsx. Should be sufficient right? Still there are problems. I just tried to get on VATSIM for the first time. After a bit of har[Mod - Happy Thoughts]ment, I finnally got connected. BUT!!!! Somewhere along the way it kills my sound card... not just FS sound, but all sound until I restart the machine. Then all is well again until I repeat the cycle. It's an asus board built-in soundcard by the way. Also, I've just recently purchased the Level D 767, I love it, but could that be the problem? Either way, I have no voice with a [frozen?] sound card and I'd sure like to become part of the VATSIM community. I think It'll help with my real-world training Any advice will help,

Thanks

Luke Kolin
Posted
Posted
Somewhere along the way it kills my sound card... not just FS sound, but all sound until I restart the machine. Then all is well again until I repeat the cycle. It's an asus board built-in soundcard by the way.

I'll take poorly written sound drivers for $100, Alex.....

Try another sound card.

Cheers!

Luke

... I spawn hundreds of children a day. They are daemons because they are easier to kill. The first four remain stubbornly alive despite my (and their) best efforts.

... Normal in my household makes you a member of a visible minority.

Richard Gerrish
Posted
Posted