You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Vatsim Newbe

Gary Claridge-King 1116826

Posted
Posted

Good Afternoon,

Registered with Vatsim a few days ago, Been reading the manuals and training modules for weeks but still lost.

I was wondering if anyone can offer me some help. Where would be a quiet airport to listen in and to gain experience before taking my first flight. I have been using FSX for 12 months, but still trying to understand flying VOR, IFR and holding paterns.

I'm not sure if set up with Vatsim UK, I've joined a VA in the USA (Delta Virtual), so thought I had to register my region as USA, I've since requested uk.

2733.png

David Saunders 818672
Posted
Posted

to be honest any airport that is manned apart from Heathrow, try to avoid this until you have managed to understand the basics of online flying and can handle your aircraft when being instructed by ATC, the basics like, Headings, Speed and Vertical control, if instructed by ATC to speed up or slow down, turn left or right and climb or decend this as an area controller is all i ask to make my life a little easier, if you can manage this then you are good to go, the rest comes with a little learning.

the next thing is ensure you have charts, ground charts are just as important as SID's or STAR charts, especially at the larger fields.

non-discript self importance signature

Matthew Reeve 914466
Posted
Posted

Gary

Welcome! There is a wealth of information on http://www.vatsim-uk.org including a local forum, and a Pilot Mentoring System which will help you with the above. I'm not sure if it's open, but if you contact Gary Brett through the contact system on our website he will be able to point you in the right direction.

3712.png

Vatsim-UK C3/INS & EGTT Euroscope sector file developer