You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

VATSIM newbie, seeking guidance...

Thomas Man 1411123

Thomas Man 1411123
Posted
Posted

Hi all,

First off just want to say I'm blown away with VATSIM. I'm new to flight sims and after going through learning the basics of flying and now entering the world of jets, I was recommended to looking in to VATSIM and oh my there's a lot haha!

I've read through all the docomeentation on the VATSIM web page, including all the general lessons, VFR and IFR lessons. I've downloaded vPilot as well as VATSpy but haven't learned how to really use them yet. I'm continuing to brush up on my practical flying skills and knowledge on my own in the FSX Learning Centre, however the whole VATSIM aspect is overwhelming, I've just recently learned how to flight a Flight Plan properly.

My question is I'm quite confident in flying the Cessna 172 (and learning other larger aircraft currently), so I was wondering if it were possible to join in on the VATSIM fun with my limited skills, or should I think about VATSIM at a later date? I'm very interested in the radio communications between ATCs and Pilots as well as practicing departing and arriving at airports with proper approach procedures, so I am excited to try VATSIM but also worried...

Where do I begin??

New to it all, but I'm keen to learn.

• Board of Governors
Nicholas Cavacini
Posted
Posted

Hi Thomas,