You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Missing arrival procedures from MSFS

Alexis Nethercleft

Alexis Nethercleft
Posted
Posted

Hi all,

I've been simming for about 20 years but have only recently taken the plunge and joined Vatsim. I'm finding it hugely enjoyable but also a tad stressful, because I'm so used to the predictability of offline ATC add-ons that the workload when flying online is taking some getting used to! I've moved over wholesale from P3D to MSFS recently, and consequently from the FSLabs A320 to the A32NX. I've tried to go back but P3D looks and performs so much worse that I just can't enjoy it anymore.

Anyway, I was on a flight the other day from EKCH-EGLL and had filed the LOGAN 1H STAR. Just before my TOD, I began setting up for my expected arrival - 27R with the LAM transition. Unfortunately, the MCDU insisted on sending me from LAM-BIG, and then via a very rough approximation of the 10-2P initial approach from BIG routing. I tried to fix it, failed, and ended up disconnecting from Vatsim and landing without ATC because I just didn't know how to broach this with the controller.

I imagine, with MSFS navdata in the state it's in at the moment, I'll encounter this problem at other airports as well. Is there a way of handling it? Did I give up and quit too soon? Or is this the sort of situation where disconnecting is the only fair way forward?

Cheers,
Filbert

Alexis Nethercleft
Posted
Posted

Hmm. I've just noticed this forum has been inactive since May. I'll try posting this query elsewhere!

Alistair Thomson
Posted
Posted
2 hours ago, Filbert Waghorn said:

inactive since May