You're browsing the 2004-2023 VATSIM Forums archive. All content is preserved in a read-only fashion.
For the latest forum posts, please visit https://forum.vatsim.net.

Need to find something? Use the Google search below.

Ways to start Vatsim?

Morgan Conington

Morgan Conington
Posted
Posted

Hi,

to start off I am sorry if this is in the wrong forum, I know being new is not an excuse for this

As you can see i'm new to Vatsim and I'm desperate to start flying on Vatsim. However I want to do it correctly

I have watched many videos but have come to the forums to try and ask for some advice or answers....

How did you start VATSIM, did you start flying GA flights or go straight to an airliner... are there any specific videos I should watch? I have read the Pilot recourse centre backwards, but i'm a visual learner

So just any advice or stories that can help me out will be appriciated!

Thanks

Morgan

Lindsey Wiebe 1101951
Posted
Posted

Hi Morgan,

Welcome aboard!

Check these out for a starter https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SzZI3cqkNuM Matt Davies aka Belynz did a series on starting out.

Mr.

VATSIM P2

Morgan Conington
Posted
Posted

Thanks for the reply Lindsey ,

I have watched these videos and they have helped. However i'm looking for some information that's more personal such as what should you start flying first

Thanks again

Morgan

• Board of Governors
Nicholas Cavacini
Posted
Posted (edited)

Hi Morgan! Thanks for coming by and asking. The best advice as to how to start out is to choose a quieter airfield that has a tower or approach online. That way, the controller is more able to help you get started. Don't load up at KJFK or another large airport, espicially during a busy period with only approach online and expect that the controller will be able to help you.